Within Oxford Reading Buddy, Oxford Levels underpin the student’s user experience – across Coaching Books, the eBooks Library and quizzes – ensuring they are given the right books to read, asked the right kinds of questions and supported in their reading development at the right pace.

At Oxford, we use an expertly developed and well-established system for levelling our books, and it has been used to develop many of our popular and well-loved series such as the Oxford Reading for Comprehension, Oxford Reading Tree, Treetops and Project X reading programs that feature in the Oxford Reading Buddy library.

These programs offer different types of reading practice:

All of Oxford’s decodable series (excluding Project X Code) follow a structured phonic progression matched to the Letters and Sounds phonic sequence. Oxford Levels follow this sequence too, letting you know exactly when new letters and sounds will be introduced in our decodable books.

Oxford’s comprehension series support the development of comprehension in all students. Oxford Levels are the foundation of these programs, offering a finely gradated sequence that supports students’ understanding of texts through the careful introduction of increasing challenge across word reading skills,  sentence structure, punctuation, vocabulary, layouts, prior knowledge and context and inferential comprehension.

Each new level offers new language, new themes and a chance to consolidate comprehension skills.

Visit oup.com.au/oxfordlevels for an in-depth look at how Oxford Levels support the development of comprehension in all students here.

There is, therefore, both a science and an art to developing texts using Oxford Levels – and it is this combination that helps to create books that students will want to and be able to read. Careful consideration is given to the specific words used, the number of words per page, the number and grammatical complexity of sentences and so on; but factors such as page layout, design and illustration and the age or emotional appropriateness of the content are also considered.

The 21 Oxford Levels support students’ development as readers through their primary years. Progression in a range of reading skills is woven through Oxford Levels including word reading, vocabulary development, different text structures and grammatical features, exposure to a range of genre and writing styles and, of course, reading comprehension.

You can access clear reports on student attainment and progress linked to Oxford Levels, and can trust that Oxford Levels provide a clear developmental framework for reading.

Below shows how many books are available at each Oxford Level:

Level Number of Books
1 8
1+ 26
2 26
3 26
4 34
5 34
6 34
7 28
8 28
9 22
10 22
11 22
12 16
13 16
14 15
15 15
16 12
17 12
18 12
19 12
20 10

Found out more about Oxford Levels here.